Menusso vs DoorDash, Toast, ChowNow, Owner.com and Slice
Menusso is a flat $129 per month with 0% commission and a branded app in the restaurant's own name. Here is how that compares with five platforms US restaurant owners often consider, using public pricing as of October 2026.
Summary comparison table
The main difference is the pricing model: Menusso and ChowNow charge a subscription, Owner.com and Slice mix a subscription with per-order fees, and DoorDash Marketplace charges a commission on each order. Figures below come from each vendor's public pages as of October 2026; anything a vendor does not publish is marked as such.
| Platform | Pricing model | Commission | Own branded App Store app | Customer data | Delivery |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Menusso | $129/month flat, first month free, $0 activation | 0% | Yes, own branded app on App Store and Google Play | Restaurant owns it | DoorDash Drive, restaurant pays per-trip fee only |
| DoorDash Marketplace | No monthly fee | 15% / 25% / 30% on delivery (Basic / Plus / Premier), 6% on pickup | No, listing inside the DoorDash app | Not stated on the pricing page | Dashers, included in commission |
| DoorDash Storefront | No monthly fee listed | 0% on direct orders, processing fees apply | No, a web ordering page | Not stated on the pages reviewed | Dashers, customer pays delivery fee |
| Toast Online Ordering | Not published, quote-based (POS plans start at $69/month) | 0% stated | Branded mobile app product listed, price not published | Not stated on the pages reviewed | Toast Delivery Services, flat fee per order, amount not published |
| ChowNow | From $229/month billed annually (Launch) | 0% on direct orders | Yes, included in every plan, plus $99 annual Apple developer fee | 100% of diner data from direct orders, per ChowNow | Flex Delivery $7.98 per order |
| Owner.com | $249/month + 5% (Flex) or $499/month (Flat) | 0% restaurant commission, 5% guest order support fee | Yes, included on all plans | Not stated on the pricing page | Not listed on the pricing page |
| Slice | $39/month + $3.00 per order, or $399/month + $2.00 per order | 0% commission, per-order fee instead | Slice App (Slice's own app); branded app not listed | Owner keeps the customer list, per Slice | Flex Delivery from $6.90 per order |
Who each option fits
- DoorDash Marketplace fits restaurants that want new customers to discover them inside the DoorDash app and accept a commission for it.
- Toast fits restaurants that need a full point of sale. Menusso is not a POS.
- ChowNow and Owner.com are the closest alternatives to Menusso: direct ordering with a branded app, priced higher per month.
- Slice fits pizzerias and quick service shops that want POS, phone ordering and ordering in one membership.
- Menusso fits restaurants that want a low flat fee, their own app, and DoorDash Drive for delivery without a marketplace listing.
Worked example: 300 orders a month at $35
At 300 orders of $35 each (300 orders x $35 = $10,500 in monthly sales), the commission-based options cost the most before processing is counted.
- DoorDash Marketplace Basic delivery at 15%: $10,500 x 0.15 = $1,575. Plus at 25%: $2,625. Premier at 30%: $3,150. Pickup at 6%: $630.
- Owner.com Flex: $249 + (5% x $10,500 = $525) = $774. Owner.com Flat: $499.
- ChowNow Launch: $229 + processing (2.95% x $10,500 = $309.75, plus 300 x $0.29 = $87) = $625.75.
- Slice Online Membership: $39 + (300 x $3.00 = $900) = $939, before 2.90% + $0.30 card processing.
- Menusso: $129, plus card processing and the DoorDash Drive fee on delivery trips.
Each sub-page below shows the full arithmetic and what is and is not included.
Compare one platform in detail
What Menusso includes
Menusso gives each restaurant its own branded app in the Apple App Store and Google Play, a web QR menu and a restaurant dashboard, for $129 per month with the first month free and a $0 activation fee. Guests sign in with Apple, Google or email, pay by card in the app, choose delivery or pickup and get a push notification on every status change. The dashboard shows live orders, item variants, availability schedules, business hours with an emergency close switch, and supports multiple locations and team roles. Menus can be translated by AI into 17 languages, and the restaurant owns its customer database. Launch takes about one month.
What Menusso does not do
Menusso is not a point of sale, does not sell hardware and does not include a loyalty points program. If you need a POS, kitchen hardware or a built-in loyalty program, a platform such as Toast or Slice is the better fit, and Menusso can sit alongside DoorDash as a complement rather than a replacement.
To see the app for your own restaurant, book a demo at menusso.com or email [email protected].
$129/month, first month free, $0 activation fee.
Book a demoFrequently asked questions
What is the cheapest alternative to DoorDash commissions?
For a restaurant with steady direct orders, a flat monthly subscription is usually cheaper than a 15% to 30% commission. Menusso is $129 per month with 0% commission, but card processing and delivery trip fees apply, so compare your own order volume.
Can I use Menusso and DoorDash together?
Yes. Menusso uses DoorDash Drive for delivery, so you can keep a DoorDash Marketplace listing for discovery and send your own regulars to your Menusso app.
Which platforms give me my own App Store app?
Menusso, ChowNow and Owner.com list a branded mobile app. Toast lists a branded mobile app product with unpublished pricing. DoorDash Marketplace is a listing inside the DoorDash app.
Are these prices current?
They are the public prices found on each vendor's site as of October 2026. Vendors change pricing, so confirm on their pages before deciding.
Is Menusso a POS replacement?
No. Menusso is an ordering platform with a restaurant dashboard, not a POS.
Sources
- DoorDash pricing
- DoorDash Online Ordering (Storefront)
- Toast pricing
- Toast Online Ordering
- Toast branded mobile app
- ChowNow pricing
- Owner.com pricing
- Slice pricing
- Slice for restaurant owners